Delegates from the United States and the Republic of Cyprus – the Acting Secretary of Homeland Security Chad F. Wolf and the Minister of Foreign Affairs Nikos Christodoulides – signed a Joint Declaration of Intent on improving border defense cooperation on January 5, 2021.

The document specifies the terms and conditions regarding mutual visa exemption. A new advisory panel will be formed to focus on future agreements, as well as anti-terrorism, economic cooperation, defence, and security efforts.

“We addressed the Republic of Cyprus’ ambitions to join the United States Visa Waiver Program,” said Acting Secretary of Homeland Security Chad F. Wolf.

Mr Wolf expressed the willingness to continue to work through their established processes to support the Republic of Cyprus’ progress towards meeting the program’s eligibility requirements.

“This will, in turn, facilitate trade and travel while bolstering our security partnership.”, he added.